This Is Not My Hat Is the 2013 Caldecott Medal Winner


This Is Not My Hat by J Klassen

This week the American Library Association announced the winner of the 2013 Caldecott Medal, an award recognizing the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children published during the preceding year. This year’s winner is This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen. Be sure to place a hold on this book .

Jon Klassen had a great year and was also among the Honor Books with Extra Yarn illustrated by Jon Klassen and written by Mac Barnett.

Also named were:

  • Creepy Carrots! illustrated by Peter Brown and written by Aaron Reynolds
  • Green illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
  • One Cool Friend illustrated by David Small and written by Toni Buzzeo
  • Sleep Like a Tiger illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski and written by Mary Logue


Author Bio:

Paula Hess is a Brisbane Library Intern.

Sign In