The 2014 Coretta Scott King Awards


The Coretta Scott King Award recognizes outstanding books by African American authors and illustrators. These books provide exceptional representations of the African American experience, written for children and young adult audiences. The award is named for Coretta Scott King, who was Dr. Martin Luther King's wife as well as an activist in her own right.

2014 Author Award

P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams-Garcia.The 2014 Author award was given to Rita Williams-Garcia for her latest book, P.S. Be Eleven. P.S. Be Eleven is the sequel to One Crazy Summer. Both books are set in the late 1960s and feature eleven-year-old Delphine. In P.S. Be Eleven, Delphine is struggling with family issues: her little sisters make trouble, and her uncle is home from Vietnam (but he hasn't really left Vietnam behind). Delphine's parents have been divorced for awhile, but now her father has a new girlfriend, and Delphine doesn't know what to do. P.S. Be Eleven is all about family, home, and heart.

Knock Knock My Dad's Dream for Me by Daniel Beaty.The 2014 Illustrator Award

The 2014 Illustrator award went to Knock Knock: My Dad's Dream for Me, illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Daniel Beaty. In loving illustrations, Collier and Beaty tell the story of a little boy, whose day always begins with the sound of his father knock-knocking on his bedroom door. But one day the knock doesn't come. The boy's father has gone away, and the boy has to carry on without him until they can be together again. In the author's note, it is explained that the boy's father is in prison, a sad reality for many children in our community. But the book emphasizes that hope and good choices are what defines our futures, a strong message for anyone and everyone.

And the 2014 Honor Recipients

In addition, four honors were awarded, three for authors and one for illustration. The first author honor went to John Lewis and Andre Aydin, for their young adult graphic novel, March: Book One. Also set in the 1960s, March: Book One is the true story of the author's childhood in Alabama and his own part of the civil rights movement, including meeting Martin Luther King, Jr.

Also honored was Walter Dean Myers for Darius and Twig, a YA novel about two best friends with an uncertain future in Harlem.

The third author honor went to Nikki Grimes' novel-in-verse, Words With Wings, a middle grade book about daydreaming and creativity.

Finally, the illustration honor went to Kadir Nelson for his beautifully illustrated biography, Nelson Mandela.


Author Bio:

Chelsey R. works at the San Carlos Library.

Sign In